Object hierarchy

Feb 18, 2010 at 12:18 PM

Hello,

I am new to Opf3. It seems to be very easy to use. However, I cannot figure out how (and if it is even possible) to create a hierarchy of objects. I have successfully tested M-N relationship scenarios between 2 classes/tables.

But what I need is something more. I need to create a hierarchy of several levels.

An example (this is a thought out simplification; I think it corresponds to my real issue.):

I have 3 tables: House, Season, Person and a relation that assigns Person to a House *through* a season (depending on a season, there are different people in a house). And I would like to have a possibility to expand it further - like something that a Person can have several cars.

As the result, I would like to have the following hierarchy:

Set/List of houses -> each house has a set/list of seasons -> each season has a set/list of persons -> etc...

Is this possible with Opf3?

Thank you in advance,

Marek

Feb 19, 2010 at 4:07 PM
Edited Feb 19, 2010 at 4:26 PM

Absolutely possible! You need to make use of ObjectHolders and the Relation attribute to accomplish what you're wanting. Here's a small example.

First you make a class to hold the database fields. Using your example here's how I'd do it.

[Persistent("Houses", PoolSize = 10)]
public partial class House : ISelfContainingObject
{

private int _Id = 0;
     private string Name = "";
     private DateTime Timestamp = DateTime.Now;

[Field("ID", Identifier=true, AutoNumber=true, AllowDBNull=false)]
     public int Id
     {
          get { return _Id; }
          set { _Id = value; }
     }

[Field("Name", AllowDBNull=false)]
     public string Name
     {
          get { return _Name; }
          set { _Name = value; }
     }

[Field("Timestamp", AllowDBNull=false)]
     public DateTime Timestamp
     {
          get { return _Timestamp; }
          set { _Timestamp = value; }
     }

public ObjectInfo _ObjectInfo = new ObjectInfo();